The Music Never Stopped: The Roots of the Grateful Dead (Various Artists)

The Music Never Stopped: The Roots of the Grateful Dead (Various Artists)

Regular price
Sale price

In their long career The Grateful Dead have been inspired by a stunning variety of American musical artists and traditions from blues to country to rock to folk - some of the most exciting and moving music ever recorded. Here are the original versions of The Dead's best loved cover tunes that surprise and delight with their musical depth, originality, and feeling. This collection has been lovingly compiled by a group of Dead insiders including Henry Kaiser, David Gans, and others with the enthusiastic support of The Dead itself. There are extensive notes included that give an overview detailing how the band came to cover each of these tunes and when they first played them in concert. The distinctive Robert Crumb cover artwork is an instant attraction and add to the collectibility of this release.

  • 1 Side A
  • 2 J. Obray Ramsey Rain and Snow
  • 3 Merle Haggard Mama Tried
  • 4 Dixie Cups Iko Iko
  • 5 Rev. Gary Davis Samson & Delilah
  • 6 Cannon's Jug Stompers Big Railroad Blues
  • 7 Marty Robbins El Paso
  • 8 Side B
  • 9 Bob Dylan It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  • 10 Charlie Patton Spoonful
  • 11 Howlin' Wolf the Red Rooster
  • 12 Chuck Berry the Promised Land
  • 13 Henry Thomas Don't Ease Me in
  • 14 Jimmy Reed Big Boss Man
  • 15 Bobby "Blue" Bland Turn on Your Love Light


Sold Out